You know what? Sometimes still life can be the most boring task in the world. I’ve got no idea how many I’ve done over the years, but I do know that the objects on the table didn’t interest me in the least. Why not draw objects that have personal meaning? Why not draw objects we are most familiar with but really never pay attention to? Since I teach elementary kids, I want to excite them about art – not bore them to tears with studies that mean very little – or even nothing – to them. Remember being a kid and when your foot grows, your parents HAVE to get you new sneakers?? Picking out the new treads, posing in front of the mirror, and them wearing them to school – everyone’s checkin’ them out – we were groovin’ it up then… Kids aren’t much different now.

It’s always a great surprise to them when I remind them how most objects are created with lines and shapes, and by golly they ALL know how to draw those…. and so then, guess what we’re going to draw for our still life today? Take off your shoes! They look at each other, break out in a big ol’ grin and rip off their shoes…

Sure I throw in art vocabulary like contour lines, shapes, letters of the alphabet (that they write and use every day – mind you, lines and shapes!), texture, value, etc. Art critics can chew me now, but it’s more important that they love art, feel confident in doing art, and realize they CAN do anything they put their minds to – worry about vocabluary? Sorry (not really), it’s just not as important to me…

Shoes R Us

Shoes R Us

