The Macaw & Toucan

The Macaw & Toucan

One of the most difficult tasks I face with any student is drawing realistically. That’s not what it’s all about in art mind you, but it sure does help… I’ve decided that 3rd grade is the best place to start although I teach the concept in K-2. Photographs of colorful tropical birds were on hand to assist in these works, something I required each student to look at while they were drawing. I could say this a million times, and it still won’t sink in, but it’s the flat truth… most objects can be drawn by simply looking for the lines and shapes that make it up. I think these 3rd grade students – all of them – were using their eyes and finding those lines and shapes in this lesson. Next up? Outside to draw from life. I call it “bugs eye view” – asking them to imagine if they were bugs – how big would the environment be around them if they were a bug? We’re outside drawing from life in our butterfly garden – most classes “get it”, some classes, I gotta work harder!

